Chicano & Latino Studies Research Guide
Rubén Salazar Collection
Writings by and about journalist Rubén Salazar collected by Library staff.
SSU Class Project (MAMS Program)
Student research papers, resource guides & indexes (1970s - 1990s)
- Topics: Braceros; Morales, Rafael; Carrillos
- Audio media: Interview with Rafael Morales
- Video media: Interview with Rafael Morales
- Press Democrat Sunday newspaper columns (available online at North Bay Digital Collections)
Hector Lee’s California Folklore Miscellany
Material on a range of North Bay ethnic groups, based on interviews collected by SSU students in the 1960s
Indexes
- Santa Rosa Press Democrat card index 1800s - 1990s
- Santa Rosa Press Democrat online index 1986 + [ProQuest Global Newstream database, available from the Library’s OneSearch
- MAMS newspaper index (1800s)
- Sonoma State student newspapers
Books from the Regional Collection
"This land was Mexican once": histories of resistance from northern California [F868.N2 H45 2007]
Early Mexican American history of Sonoma County: a bibliography [E184.M5T53 1976]
Northern Sonoma County farmworker housing needs assessment [HD7289.5.A418 N67 1986]
Saints, peaches and wine: Mexican migrants and the transformation of Los Haros, Zacatecas and Napa, California [F1381.N536 2002a]
Testimonios: early California through the eyes of women, 1815-1848 [F864.T327 2006]
Books from Special Collections
A harvest of loneliness: an inquiry into a social problem by Henry P. Anderson [HD1527.C2A74 1964]
Border correspondent, 1955-1970 by Rubén Salazar [F787 .S18 1995]
Stranger in one's land by Rubén Salazar [F395.M5 U55 1970]
Class, race and Chicano oppression by Tomas Almaguer [E184.M5 A45 1975]
Don Zeferino: villista, bracero y repatriado by Ferreira, Zeferino Diego, b.1892-d.1973 [HD5856.U52 C22 1981]
El Teatro Campesino: the evolution of America's first Chicano theatre company, 1965 - 1985 [PN2270.M48 T4 1985 ]
La Raza: yearbook, 1968 [E184.M5 R356 1968]
SSU Masters Theses
Heart of an industry: the role of the bracero program in the growth of viticulture in Sonoma and Napa County [D 2006 L39]
Migrant farm workers, growers and the Healdsburg community, 1941-1945 [D 1997 R57]
Oral testimonies of Mexican workers who organized the Sonoma County Industrial Union: que es un boton? [D 1996 L37]
The Carrillo Adobe: aspects of American perspectives on hispanic culture and their impact ... [D 1999 S83]
Statistical Resources in the 3rd Floor Stacks
Farm labor need and farm workers in California 1970 to 1989 [HD1527.C2A3]
Occupational mobility of current and former farm workers: comparative analysis in two California labor markets [HD1527.C2 G28 1991]
Media
Bettina Gray speaks with Luis Valdez, 1993 [VHS 4969]
Chicano! the history of the Mexican American civil rights movement, 1996 [VHS 2381]
Cruisin' low: Taking steps, 19?? [VHS 3852]
Farmworkers in crisis, 1988 [VHS 3477]
I am Joaquin, 1999 [DVD PS 3557 I]
Harvest of Loneliness, 2010 [DVD HD 8081 Harvest]
La muerte de Danny Treviño, 197? [DVD HV 7936 Muerte]
Latino stories of World War II, 2006 [DVD D810 Latino]
Latino USA, 1995 (sound recording) [CASS 4571]
Madres Unidas: parents researching for change, 2003 [DVD LB 1048 Madres]
Rafael Morales oral history interview 1978 [CD 6705 & online access]
Rafael Morales oral history interview 1995 [DVD 1146 & online access]
Pt. St. George Fisheries & Sonoma County Industrial Union, 1988 [DVD HD 6490 Pt.]
Requiem – 29, 1971 [DVD E184 Requiem]
Sonoma Sesquicentennial, 1985 [DVD LD 729 Sonoma Sesq.]
The Petaluma immigrant experience, 2008 [DVD F869 Petaluma]
Uneasy neighbors (San Diego area), 199? [DVD HD 8081 Uneasy]
Viva la causa: 500 years of Chicano history, 1995 [VHS 4481]
Voices of the Orishas, 1993 [VHS 2265]
Walkout, 2006 [DVD PN 1997 Walkout]
Special Collections (including Digital Special Collections) Locators
- North Bay Digital Collections
- Online Archive of California
- Calisphere
- Internet Archive
- Digital Public Library of America